An Introduction

The Boston and Maine Northern Line once ran from Concord New Hampshire to White River Junction Vermont.  It began around 1847 as the Northern Railroad and came to an end in the mid-1990s after Guilford Transportation pulled up the rail and the state of New Hampshire acquired the right of way from what was left of the B&M.  The right of way continues to be useful as the Northern Rail Trail but, to be honest, I would have preferred continued rail service on the line.  Life is what it is and people need to get and stay fit more than the world needed a somewhat redundant rail line.

Now all of this would be interesting for its own sake but in addition the everything above, I happen to have spent the early years of my life living across Mascoma Lake (in New Hampshire) from the Boston and Maine Northern Line, and witnessed the brief return of traffic on the Northern, around 1982, when a derailment on the Connecticut River Line forced B&M to run a freight or two on what was now very rickety track.  That sparked a lifelong interest in the Boston and Maine Railroad and the Northern Line in particular.

Although I moved to the Mid-West in the mid-1980s I continued my interest in the B&M Northern Line and, while spending the summers visiting my grandparents in Lebanon NH, I was able to acquaint myself with the portions of the Northern that ran literally within a stone’s throw of their home.  Now I am all grown up (sort of) and I continue to visit my father back in New Hampshire and take every opportunity to visit the Northern and explore what remains of a very scenic and personal right of way.

Now I suppose I should get to the purpose of this blog.  My first priority will be to describe my adventures in N scale railroad and, specifically, how that is bound to the B&M.  I will address my interest in current and upcoming products and projects as well as my nascent hobby of collecting early N scale equipment from North-Eastern railroads.  In addition, I will definitely talk about time spent interacting with real trains and railroads and probably drift to other subjects as my mind wanders.  I hope you enjoy it. – Joel

Tags: , ,

One response to “An Introduction”

  1. Jonathan Caswell says :

    I LIKE THESE POSTS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

