Operations Department

Enfield Local Part I –

So I just wanted to throw a teaser up here, in the near future I am going to outline an operating session on my “Enfield, NH” layout as it exists right now.  We are still in the process of unpacking boxes and getting settled so there are still a lot of things yet to be done on the layout, which I have discussed previously in my blog.  No I haven’t given up on modeling the Northern with some of my new found basement space, but that is a project for the future, when space is sorted out, time is more readily available, and the needs/wants of a new home are met.

For the meantime I am using my modified loop, loosely modeled on Enfield, New Hampshire, to fulfill my model railroading needs and thankfully, my original design allows for some decent operations.  The plan is to add a small staging yard and a short finished addition which will represent the East Lebanon/Mascoma section of the actual Northern (which will be a little out of order due to the way Rte 4 runs on my layout).  For now, here is a quick shot of the Enfield Local just railroad-north of Enfield:

enfield_local_web

Stay tuned for Part II of this series, where I hope to discuss some paperwork and how it applies to operations on my Enfield layout.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Operations Department”

  1. Jonathan Caswell says :

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    REALLY EFFECTIVE TEASER!!!!!! 😀

  2. Jonathan Caswell says :

    NICE PIC. OF THE RS-3 (?).

    • bumthum says :

      Yeah, it’s the Bachmann “dual-mode decoder” RS-3. It’s a sweet running locomotive if you are patient enough to wait while the decoder switches directions… something you have to do even in DC mode, which is what I use.

Leave a Reply

